Sometimes You Just Need to Call it Quits

When I was in my third year of college and my first quarter at Houston Baptist University I remember calling my mom begging to quit HBU and come back to San Antonio and she told me, “Julie, you think the grass is always greener on the other side.” This is, in fact, a very true statement.

I am very much a person who always wants to do the next thing or if I just was here or doing this instead I would be happier. Don’t get me wrong, I’m generally a very happy person and I’m not talking big things, just kind of everyday things.

Some people know exactly what they want in life and get it, others, like me, can sometimes take a little longer to find what makes them happy. The quote, “Not all those who wander are lost,” really is a favorite of mine and another one that is very true for me. I feel like I’ve done an assortment of things and have quit quite a few, however, I don’t regret one time or thing that I’ve done. I’ve learned something new and I know it’s paved God’s true path for me.

I remember being in college and meeting someone who said they worked part time in a hotel and I thought that just seemed like one of the coolest things ever! Eventually, after many failed job interviews for different jobs, I finally landed a job at a hotel in The Woodlands, I was pretty excited! I thought this was it and after a few weeks I thought to myself that I would love to get experience here, move up the hotel chain, and eventually open a bed and breakfast. There ya go, my life was set! But after about seven months there and not getting the promotion (I still think) I deserved we moved to Katy and I got a job at a hotel in Sugar Land. It was a much bigger hotel and honestly I just wasn’t into it anymore. Eventually my hotel dreams came and went and I was ready for a new career, even though I had thought this would be my life’s work.

I went back to my roots, writing. I have been writing for as long as I can remember, I was even an editor at HBU’s newspaper. I eventually found a job at a magazine and quickly moved up the ladder. It was good for a time and I thought I would stay in this industry for a while, if not forever. However, mostly due to poor leadership, I decided I needed to leave that place as well.

I found a job at a travel agency, which was also a passion of mine. While I’ve never left the USA, I’ve always loved traveling, even if has just been in the states. It was a great company with great people, but after becoming a mom for the second time I finally realized what job I really wanted, to stay home with my kids!

This job is going to be the hardest and most challenging of any that I’ve had, I know that. And I know I’m going to want to pull my hair out and run away at times, but right now, while my kids are young I’m the the best person for this job. It’s not a glamorous job and I won’t get the “Eww and ahhs” that I got like I did at the magazine or travel agency, but so far it’s a great fit for me.
2015/01/img_0618.jpg
Staying home is NOT a job that everyone can do, and if that’s you, that’s OK!!! I can’t stress that enough! Don’t feel bad or guilty if you just can’t stand the thought of being home all day with kids, even if they are your kids. You are not a bad person and you should never feel guilty! If it’s not a job you can do, call it quits and go find something that will make you happy! Your kids will probably like you better for it.

Staying home was something I thought I could never do, I was really worried. However, after lots of discussions with David and LOTS of prayer we realized it was best and I really am so happy. I know this is exactly the job God wanted for me. So all those times I quit, they were just helping prepare me to be the best mom I could be.

But I could always change my mind 😉

3 thoughts on “Sometimes You Just Need to Call it Quits

  1. You’ll do great! I have been a SAHM now for almost 8mo. My 2 kids drive me wild and most days are harder than others BUT one little smile from them makes it all worth it!!!

Leave a Reply

