It’s ok to be sad

On March 16th I will officially be saying goodbye to my twenties and hello 30. I can honestly say that I’m not one of those people who is going to say “I’m so happy turning 30, because now people will listen to me,” or “I officially feel like an adult.” The truth is I’m really sad to be turning 30! 

I’m not looking for people to tell me how it’s not really that big of a deal and that age is just a number. Obviously, I know all this, but it doesn’t mean I can’t be sad for a bit. I know I’ll get over it, but it’s like my sister said, “From here on out you’re just old! No matter how old you are.” I know she was semi-kidding, but it’s so true!

Just being able to tell myself I’m twenty this or that made me feel better over the years. There’s just so much that I experienced and accomplished in my twenties. I got engaged at 21, married at 22, lost my dad at 22, had a baby at 27, and again at 29, and a heck of a lot more personal stuff in between!

And sure, there were people who probably took advantage of me thinking I was naive, and I probably was, but to tell you the truth I don’t know if I’ve really changed enough to where they won’t again. Which points to the obvious that if I feel young I can pretend I am, right?! At least for a bit, but in reality I’m not that young.

I know I’ll experience new things and different things, but no matter how I look at it, I’m still not looking forward to it. It’s ok, I’ll get over it and I do know it won’t be so bad. I hope I have so many more years to look forward to and that thirty will seem like nothing. But for now it scares me and it makes me feel old, but I guess it’s better than forty! 😉

*I’m not looking for a pity party, just my own blog to share my thoughts 

One thought on “It’s ok to be sad

Leave a Reply

